If you share with contacts you will be able to set permissions for how your recipient will be able to access the content you share with them.

Using the StoAmigo Website

Step 1: Next to every file, folder, and list in StoAmigo there is a share button. Click on the ‘share’ button for the file, folder, or list you would like to share with a contact.

Step 2: From the ‘Share’ menu, click on ‘Share with Contacts’.

Step 3: The Share with Contacts window opens up. The left side of your screen shows the list of contacts in your account. Click on the plus icon ( ) to add a contact to a share or type their email address and click this plus sign in the space marked “add existing and new contact emails here”.

Step 4: Next to each contact added to a share you will see icons that will allow you to customize permission settings for each contact:

You can toggle the Download icon on or off to decide if you would like this contact to be able to download what you are sharing with them or to only be able to view it.

You can click the Time-2-Live icon and a calendar will open up that will allow you to select the date that the share will automatically expire. Once the date is chosen the icon will be filled in to indicate this feature is active for this recipient. NOTE: You can set an expiration date of a maximum of 3 months away from the date of the share. Once it expires the share will be automatically removed.

When you toggle the Privacy icon on you will make sure to restrict what you are sharing to this specific contact, so they won’t be able to forward it or share it with others. You can also keep it off so the share goes out without this restriction.

When you toggle the 2-Factor Authentication icon on the contact will need to undergo the 2-factor authentication process, which includes a pin and token, in order to access what you shared with them. You can also keep it off so the share goes out without this restriction. NOTE: This option is only available if you have a plan with 2-factor authentication.


Here we see a file being shared to 4 contacts, each with different permission settings attached to them.

Step 5: Click ‘submit’ when you are ready to share the content with the permission settings. You will receive a message on the top-left corner of your StoAmigo screen to indicate the file/folder/list was shared successfully.

Item shared successfully

Also the ‘share’ button for the shared file/folder/list will now turn blue to indicate it has been shared with contacts.

Using the Mobile App (iOS)

Step 1: Touch the action icon ( ) of the file/folder/list you would like to share with permission settings to reveal the file menu. NOTE: The action icon only appears in detailed view. If you are in thumbnail view you need to long-touch on the name of the file/folder/list to reveal the file menu.

Step 2: From the ‘Menu’ touch the ‘Share’ button.

Step 3: From the ‘Share through’ menu touch the ‘Share with contacts’ button.

Step 4: From the Share screen touch the Contacts button (  ) on the top-right corner to open up your contacts list.

Step 5: Your contacts list opens. Touch the name(s) you would like to share with. The name(s) you select will turn blue. When you have selected all the contacts you would like to share with, touch the ‘Add’ button on the lower right corner to add them to the share.

Step 6: Back in the share screen you can see the names of the contacts that you added from your contacts list. You can also share with a new contact by typing in their email address in the space marked “add contact here”. Once you have added all the contacts to a share you can now manipulate the permission settings.

You can toggle the ‘Download permission’ on ( ) or off ( ) to decide if you would like this contact to be able to download what you are sharing with them or to only be able to view it.

You can touch the Time-2-live icon ( ) and a calendar will open up that will allow you to select the date that the share will automatically expire. Once the date is chosen the icon will be filled in ( ) to indicate this feature is active for this recipient. NOTE: You can set an expiration date of a maximum of 3 months away from the date of the share. Once it expires the share will be automatically removed.

When you toggle the ‘Private sharing’ on ( ) you will make sure to restrict what you are sharing to this specific contact, so they won’t be able to forward it or share it with others. You can also keep it off ( ) so the share goes out without this restriction.

When you toggle the ‘2-Factor Authentication’ on ( ) the contact will need to undergo the 2-factor authentication process, which includes a pin and token, in order to access what you shared with them. You can also keep it off ( ) so the share goes out without this restriction. NOTE: This option is only available if you have 2-factor authentication activated on your account.

Step 7: When you have set all the permission settings and you are ready to share, touch the ‘Submit’ button on the lower-right corner.

Back in your storage folder you will see a message confirming that the share was completed.

 

Using the Mobile App (Android)

Step 1: Touch the action icon ( ) of the file/folder/list you would like to share with permission settings to reveal the file menu. NOTE: The action icon only appears in detailed view. If you are in thumbnail view you need to long-touch on the name of the file/folder/list to reveal the file menu.

Step 2: From the ‘Action’ menu touch the ‘Share’ button.

Step 3: From the Share menu touch the ‘Share with contacts’ button.

Step 4: From the Share screen touch the Contacts button (  ) on the top-right corner to open up your contacts list.

Step 5: Your contacts list opens. Touch the name(s) you would like to share with. The name(s) you select will turn blue. When you have selected all the contacts you would like to share with, touch the ‘Add’ button on the lower right corner to add them to the share.

Step 6: Back in the share screen you can see the names of the contacts that you added from your contacts list. You can also share with a new contact by typing in their email address in the space marked “add contact here”. Once you have added all the contacts to a share you can now manipulate the permission settings.

You can toggle the ‘Download permission’ on ( ) or off ( ) to decide if you would like this contact to be able to download what you are sharing with them or to only be able to view it.

You can touch the Time-2-live icon ( ) and a calendar will open up that will allow you to select the date that the share will automatically expire. Once the date is chosen the icon will be filled in ( ) to indicate this feature is active for this recipient. NOTE: You can set an expiration date of a maximum of 3 months away from the date of the share. Once it expires the share will be automatically removed.

When you toggle the ‘Private sharing’ on ( ) you will make sure to restrict what you are sharing to this specific contact, so they won’t be able to forward it or share it with others. You can also keep it off ( ) so the share goes out without this restriction.

When you toggle the ‘2-Factor Authentication’ on ( ) the contact will need to undergo the 2-factor authentication process, which includes a pin and token, in order to access what you shared with them. You can also keep it off ( ) so the share goes out without this restriction. NOTE: This option is only available if you have 2-factor authentication activated on your account.

Step 7: When you have set all the permission settings and you are ready to share, touch the ‘Submit’ button on the lower-right corner.

Back in your storage folder you will see a message confirming that the share was completed.